Major Project

Land Values

Photo book format idea

1 Comment

I wanted to share this link which is a Youtube video of a book layout I am really interested in.

It is very similar in concept to how I have been think about creating the book for my work.  If you can’t see the video, the concept is that the book folds out into three sections with the middle page being created from the overlap of pages either from the right or the left.  It is a very clever concept which seems to create an interesting experience for the viewer.

My idea was for the book to fold out into four pages and thus become, in effect, two books joined together and which should be enjoyed together.  I hadn’t even thought of only having three pages open and overlapping the pages in the book – not sure if I will use that specific technique but what I did notice was how the binding of the book allowed the pages to open flat which is exactly how I want my book to work so that there is then no issue over curved pages folding back over themselves etc.

This is just a placeholder for an idea at the moment but is something that I will keep in the back of my mind.

p.s. I picked up the link to this video from Beyond Words who are selling the book on their website:  http://www.beyondwords.co.uk/p/2387/moises

 

One thought on “Photo book format idea

  1. Interesting concept indeed!

Leave a comment